The Way They Talk When They Have Too Much to Say (a 100 word story)

“You’re not hearing me,” he said.

“You won’t let it go.” She scrubbed the plate in the sink, rinsed it and scrubbed again. It was already clean.

“Why should I have to just let it go? It’s a thing you did.”

“You want me to say I’m sorry. OK, I’m saying — “

Be sorry. Say whatever the hell you want, but be sorry.”

“I am saying ‘I’m sorry’. I am saying it.”

She soaped the sponge again, scrubbed the same clean plate.

“Stop doing the dishes.”

“They’re dirty.”

“So that’s it then?”

“I don’t know what you want me to say.”

Comment

